Overture 4 vs. 5

General Overture 4 Discussion.
Post Reply
Jon Grier
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Overture 4 vs. 5

Post by Jon Grier »

Is any one besides me soldiering on with Overture 4.15? I just cannot warm up to version 5... opening version 4 files is a train wreck, chord symbols are an awkward mess, and it just seems less straightforward in general. Maybe I haven't given it a fair chance, but every time I have tried I give up in frustration. I am fluent and - for the most part - satisfied with version 4. But Apple has me between a rock and a hard place with system upgrades... I cannot go past 10.14.6 (Mojave), lest I get into 64-bit territory and am forced to use version 5. I have thousands of files in version 4 - everything I have written since 1996. I am completely naïve about such things, but how hard would it be to code a 64-bit version of Overture 4? Thanks for any insights or sympathy.
Last edited by Jon Grier on Tue Oct 05, 2021 10:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Dean Krommydas
Site Admin
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:27 am
Contact:

Re: Overture 4 vs. 5

Post by Dean Krommydas »

Hey Jon,

I loved using Overture 4 as well, and I realize it doesn't necessarily help you by saying that it's time to upgrade and move forward with things...so...

It's been a while for me, and I use PCs, but the way I remember getting Overture 4 to work in/with a 64-bit environment (and with 64-bit libraries) was to have a separate system (computer) for Overture 4, and additional upgraded computers (or a single upgraded computer) with a different software hosting program for 64-bit sample libraries (like Cubase with MIDIoverLAN or VEP) and have the proper audio hardware between the systems.

This kept the main computer with Overture 4 on it "as is" and allowed me to tap more potential power in terms of RAM, CPU, upgraded software, 64-bit sample libraries, plugins, etc., and keep working in Overture 4 until the time came to upgrade.

I don't know if that helps at all or what your intentions are beyond sticking with Overture 4 and an older Mac.

I do vaguely remember it being possible to make a 32-bit Operating System 64-bit aware, but it was so long ago, and again PC-based. There may even be some threads about it archived on here if you search.

I have no idea about your coding question, so I won't even attempt it.

Be well
Jon Grier
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Re: Overture 4 vs. 5

Post by Jon Grier »

Thank you for the suggestions Dean, I do appreciate it. I'll guess just have to see how desperate I get in the long run. I'm composing for acoustic instruments and humans and I don't value the demo much beyond giving performers the general idea. So I don't work at the demo's authenticity much at all and I have little need of the improvements to those capabilities. There are only a few missing things that I wish version 4 was capable of and I've been able to work around those pretty well. I'll nose around the Overture Forum, as you suggest, to see if there are any other thoughts about dealing with the 64-bit environment.
User avatar
Dean Krommydas
Site Admin
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:27 am
Contact:

Re: Overture 4 vs. 5

Post by Dean Krommydas »

NO problem, sorry I couldn't be of more help on this. Maybe someone with more experience in MACs can have better feedback for you.

If you google how to run a 32-bit App in a 64-bit Mac Os environment, maybe you'll have a bit more luck.

This was one article that came up on a quick search that might be more relevant or at least lead you to search some other possibilities for what you are wanting to accomplish.

https://www.pcmag.com/how-to/how-to-run ... s-catalina

Best of luck
PhilipS
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2022 11:04 pm

Re: Overture 4 vs. 5

Post by PhilipS »

Jon Grier wrote: Mon Oct 04, 2021 2:26 pmIs any one besides me soldiering on with Overture 4.15? I just cannot warm up to version 5... opening version 4 files is a train wreck
Hey, yes, I still use Overture 4 on my Mac almost daily, and have written 10,000+ sheets of music with it and growing. I know it, I’m super fast with it, and it prints out prettily. I’m disheartened to hear that Overture 5 still doesn’t do well opening Overture 4 files. Hopefully that’s something they can address.

When I buy a Mac, I will do one major upgrade—like, if it came with 10.12, I will go to 10.13 but no further. All Macs are fast when you first buy them, because they are running software designed for them. So if you upgrade too much, your computer slows down, eventually unbearably.

All this is to say, I have several Macs that can run Overture 4 just fine. I currently have it installed on a Macbook Pro 15" which is probably thirteen years old, still works great.
BoomerBaby
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2022 4:46 pm

Re: Overture 4 vs. 5

Post by BoomerBaby »

Being away a long time from using Overture 4.1.5 and being out of touch about which company is actually in charge of this older program, I still LOVE using it on my (also older) PC. After reading about the "train wreck" above trying to open old files makes one leery to "upgrade". I have had some scary glitch problems like the whole program will suddenly close or is that considered a crash? And since I'm not a good techie, where in the world do I find the upgrade, and should I do it, AND how does one upgrade? So afraid of losing or not being able to open existing files. Or doing an upgrade with the wrong one first, is there an order to it? Does that mean I'll end up in the version 5 realm? At least I've kept good records and have my serial number, etc. I do have a newer laptop computer to keep separate copies, but Overture is not loaded on it, and not sure how to get that started. Been stuck for years on how to move forward. A little bump of advice would be much appreciated!
User avatar
Dean Krommydas
Site Admin
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:27 am
Contact:

Re: Overture 4 vs. 5

Post by Dean Krommydas »

Hi Boomerbaby,

A few bumps of information that might help...

Sonic Scores has been "in charge" for more years than I can remember at this point and you can run both programs (Ov. 4 & Ov. 5) on the same machine (minimum Windows 7/64-bit to run Ov. 5). Installing or upgrading to 5 will not remove 4 if doing so on the same machine. It's not like an operating system upgrade from Windows 7 to 10 for example. Overture 5 is near a complete rewrite and new program from Overture 4 and we are now almost onto Overture 6. And sure...you can also run Ov. 5 separately on your newer laptop if you like.

You can download and install a free demo version of Overture 5, try it out for yourself for a while and get to know it a bit before you make a decision. Some things are familiar, and there is a lot new:

https://sonicscores.com/downloads/

You'll need to register/log in to download it, and eventually, if you want to make the upgrade, you would use that online account to activate it using your previous serial.

There is obviously more to know along the way but that's how you could begin to take a few steps forward without worrying about affecting what you already have. You can just keep the programs separate and test one project at a time, until when & if you're ready to cut the cord.

~Dean
BoomerBaby
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2022 4:46 pm

Re: Overture 4 vs. 5

Post by BoomerBaby »

Awesome - and thanks for the kid gloves bump! 8)
BoomerBaby
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2022 4:46 pm

Re: Overture 4 vs. 5

Post by BoomerBaby »

Hi There-
I was able to get the 30 day free trial and would like to upgrade from the 4.15 to 5 BUT they apparently did not keep my serial number. I tried different times to make sure I didn't type a mistake but I cannot be recognized. I did send an email to the company's contact weeks ago and no response. Does anyone have an idea what I might do to not have to start from scratch? Does it seem if I have had this program that I could at least have had some sort of discount to upgrade? Running out of days for the free trial...
User avatar
Dean Krommydas
Site Admin
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:27 am
Contact:

Re: Overture 4 vs. 5

Post by Dean Krommydas »

Hi Boomerbaby,

Sorry to hear about your difficulties. Did you have any luck?

I'd keep trying support for a response.

I'm assuming you made it to this page:

https://sonicscores.com/product/overture-5-ug/

and entered everything correctly?

I forget with the old Ov. 4 serials...if you had to put all the letters in before the numbers or what the precise combination was. Could be that too I don't know...
Post Reply