Community

Where Overture and Score Writer users interact
It is currently Wed Oct 21, 2020 5:09 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 3:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 4063
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Pete,

Are you sure because the extra measure does not happen here on MAC or PC.
Double click on the trill and set the Accidental check box.
Just uploaded build 3 for both PC and MAC.

DrDca,

All is well here and no else is having this issue, so I don't know other than the typical Windows response.
Reboot and install again.

_________________
Don
Leader of the Band


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 4:16 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:37 pm
Posts: 11
Hello,
as you asked, I've just opened an XML file.
It as been generated with Presonus Notion 6.
This morning I tried to import it on the previous Overture 5 version and the result was pretty bad (with very small staves).
Now, with this new version the visual aspect is good
I actually found a problem. The import of expressions like pizz. or Arco is not good. They appear on the top of the score (which is not they normal place) and they produce a drop down of the tempo.
I had to remove them and replace it.

Best regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 4:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 4063
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
LeBeginner,

Please attach the MusicXML file so we can look at it.

_________________
Don
Leader of the Band


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 2:00 am 
Offline
Super Man

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 1019
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Same issue with 5.6.2-3
I've done 4 times..new scores, old scores...
Win10

Here it is- New score. 32 measures long.
I changed measure 2 to 3/4 (just measure 2 in time signature dialogue box).
This is the result. I got an extra measure of 3/4. Score is now 33 measures long.

Attachment:
33.png
33.png [ 60.49 KiB | Viewed 13600 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 2:05 am 
Offline
Super Man

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 1019
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
The accidental attached to the trill is now working. Very nice...

BUT... Cautionary Accidentals, in ANY key, STILL NOT WORKING- (it worked in everything but C before)

In fact, I don't even see a Preference for that in Preferences anymore. ????
Whas up???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Auto save is working!!!
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 3:05 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:34 am
Posts: 75
For the first time autosave in OV5 is working properly on my MAC. It saves every minute as supposed to. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 11:19 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 8:37 am
Posts: 52
Location: West Wales, UK
Attachment:
Trill.jpg
Trill.jpg [ 31.11 KiB | Viewed 13595 times ]


Hi Don

starting with the good stuff

my "about" reports the correct version (5623)

The trill works - however the accidental is very small - could it be made larger ( I added trill and then clicked to open box etc etc)

As Pete when I added an extra measure and changed the time sig. it added another measure ( I inserted an extra bar, clicked into bar 3 and changed time to 3/4 for bar 3 & 4 - got bar 5)


Attachments:
Inserted measure.jpg
Inserted measure.jpg [ 93.38 KiB | Viewed 13595 times ]
starting.jpg
starting.jpg [ 70.47 KiB | Viewed 13595 times ]

_________________
TUBA56

Colin
EXPERT
EX = has been
SPERT = a drip under pressure
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 11:21 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 8:37 am
Posts: 52
Location: West Wales, UK
SORRY

too many pics and theyre too large

So here is final with new time and extra bar


I'm on Win 10, latest updates etc and 32Gb RAM


Attachments:
time change.jpg
time change.jpg [ 95.4 KiB | Viewed 13599 times ]

_________________
TUBA56

Colin
EXPERT
EX = has been
SPERT = a drip under pressure
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 11:23 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 8:37 am
Posts: 52
Location: West Wales, UK
Sorry again

One more OK - all of the latest updates have gone straight in, no problems, not needed to reboot or anything else. Did have to re-install the icon on the taskbar but I'll let you off for that one as everything seems to do that.

_________________
TUBA56

Colin
EXPERT
EX = has been
SPERT = a drip under pressure


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 11:47 am 
Offline
Super Man

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 1019
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Colin,
I can now add that it happens with or without inserting the extra bar. Just changing the time signature causes OV to add a bar.

Also, can others confirm that cautionary accidentals are not working and there is no longer a preference for them?

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 12:01 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:10 am
Posts: 90
All major issues with OVE 5.6.1-2, as far as I’m concerned, have been resolved! Congrats Don!
Some remaining in OVE 5.6.2-3 (of lesser importance):
1. Active parts/ Use alternate meter on parts. I would expect to see the alt. meters in Extracted Parts, which is not the case. Same with “Show range” of multi-rests in Extracted Parts. Those actions take quite some manual effort in doing it separately on each Instrument Part.
2. Beam tremolo 32nds (e.g. trill between g and b). The second note shows blurred (or fainted).
3. Slur curvatures should be bigger so that it does not cross notes’ stems or other symbols, e.g. trill signs. Also to differentiate from ties.
4. Program crashes unexpectedly, e.g. when you ask sometimes to show flat beams, or to apply cautionary accidentals.
5. Symbols/Notes panel (wish, not bug). I would expect to be able to pick up an accidental and attach it to a note in the score, {something you can do with Ctrl s, Ctrl f, or Ctrl n (as I discovered)}. I would prefer this method of selective application of cautionary accidentals as against the new one applied of automatic introduction in the whole of the score.
6. Triplets: Sometimes, when Ove converts a midi file to score, it interprets wrongly the triplets, with many dotted notes which need manual intervention, not an easy task. Especially when the first note of the three is a tied note to a previous one.
7. On triplets again: Try to write a triplet in an empty measure by selecting, say an 8th and the sign of tuplet from the notes’ menu (a reasonable thing to do I suppose). You just can’t do it.
8. Flip direction (Wish not bug): You need to press 3 keys simultaneously (Ctrl+Shift+F) to do it. Could this be done with one key only, as it was the case in Ove 4?
I do not attach evidence files as, I believe, above issues can be easily reproduced.

Item 9. In extracted Parts: Change of clef, say from F to G, does not show the accidentals in the following measure(s), i.e. the performer will read a wrong melody. This is serious as you lose trust to the program. See the attached two example files.


Attachments:
In G clef.ovex [19.96 KiB]
Downloaded 85 times
In F clef.ovex [19.9 KiB]
Downloaded 85 times


Last edited by Vassilis on Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:04 am, edited 2 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 7:09 pm 
Offline
Super Man

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 1019
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Reported this in Bugs, but want to make sure it is seen.
The problem with ASO staccato's not being returned to sustain is still a problem. If I stop after staccato notes, or even close and reopen a score from scratch, the staccato keyswitch is still happening.
I thought this had been fixed.


Attachments:
Untitled-2.ovex [1.27 MiB]
Downloaded 84 times


Last edited by PeteFine on Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:52 pm 
Offline
Super Man

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 1019
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Staccato dots added by selecting the dot in the Tools panel, then clicking or lassoing notes.
I am attaching the score but I think you would need ASO to test it, maybe not.... I can't stop and restart at an earlier point, or even reopen the score, without some instruments starting staccato.


Attachments:
Untitled-2.ovex [1.28 MiB]
Downloaded 90 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 9:12 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:28 am
Posts: 425
Pete
PeteFine wrote:
Staccato dots added by selecting the dot in the Tools panel, then clicking or lassoing notes.
I am attaching the score but I think you would need ASO to test it, maybe not.... I can't stop and restart at an earlier point, or even reopen the score, without some instruments starting staccato.

Help me find those staccato dots.

Alan.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2020 12:27 am 
Offline
Super Man

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 1019
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Brass in meas. 103, for instance.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group