Community

Where Overture and Score Writer users interact
It is currently Sat Mar 28, 2020 1:10 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


Please be specific when reporting bugs and be able to reproduce them.
If you don't, the post will most likely be ignored or deleted.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New (old?) Transpose Bug
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2020 11:45 pm 
Offline
Super User

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 933
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Measure 104...
I copied the Cello phrase to the 1st Clarinet, and I copied the bass phrase to the 2nd clarinet. (correcting octaves and of course moving them up a whole step since they are Bb instruments). But the 2nd clarinet plays as if a C instrument. To get it to sound the correct notes I had to move it back down a whole step.

Attachment:
Untitled.png
Untitled.png [ 142.39 KiB | Viewed 85 times ]


Why is the 1st voice playing correctly (sounding concert C when notated D), and the second voice not playing correctly (sounding A flat when notated Ab)?
The 2 voices SHOULD have the same transposition. Here is the Inspector window.

Attachment:
Untitled2.png
Untitled2.png [ 37.81 KiB | Viewed 85 times ]


Score attached M104


Attachments:
new idea.ovex [1.07 MiB]
Downloaded 1 time
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:54 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:28 am
Posts: 415
Greetings, Pete,

PeteFine wrote:
Measure 104...
I copied the Cello phrase to the 1st Clarinet, and I copied the bass phrase to the 2nd clarinet. (correcting octaves and of course moving them up a whole step since they are Bb instruments). But the 2nd clarinet plays as if a C instrument. To get it to sound the correct notes I had to move it back down a whole step.

On the Clarinet track, while voice 1 is set for a playback offset of -2 semitones, voice 2 is set for zero playback offset.

Attachment:
Offset_problem-101.jpg
Offset_problem-101.jpg [ 14.91 KiB | Viewed 79 times ]

Perhaps in the copy/paste the bass notes brought their own play transposition with them!

Cheers,

Alan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:36 am 
Offline
Super User

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 933
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Wow! I forgot that there is more to that Inspector window by sliding the bar... my error! However, it is strange that the pasting changed that parameter. (carried the transpose info of the copied part).I believe I have reported this glitch before some time back.
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group