Community

Where Overture and Score Writer users interact
It is currently Tue Aug 04, 2020 7:03 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 5:48 pm 
Offline
Super User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:07 am
Posts: 804
Location: Clearwater, FL USA
Can Overture be rewired as a front-end to Cakewalk Sonar? That's the only way Sonar would be useful to me, with Overture supplying tracks to Sonar. I don't play an instrument well, so my whole universe revolves on Overture as my instrument.

I wonder if MIDIyoke works? Last time I tried that between Overture and Sonar, Sonar stuttered badly. I just upgraded Sonar to 8.5.2P, but I expect the behavior to be the same, and even if it did work, I would have to open Overture then Sonar, then patch the two together. If rewire worked there would be at least one fewer steps.

_________________
C. Mike Bunker
Clearwater, FL

Win 10 x64, Intel 4 core I7-4790 desktop, 12 gb RAM.
Sonar Platinum, Roland Integra-7, Garritan (GPO 5, GIO,
Classic Pipe Organs). Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Kirk Hunter
Ensembles, Kontakt 6, Kontakt 6 libraries, Amadeus SO.


Last edited by Mike Bunker on Thu Mar 18, 2010 1:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 5:35 am 
Offline
Super User
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:24 pm
Posts: 527
Location: Vienna, Austria
Mike Bunker wrote:
Can Overture be rewired as a front-end to Cakewalk Sonar? That's the only way Sonar would be useful to me, with Overture supplying tracks to Sonar. I don't play an instrument well, so my whole universe revolves on Overture as my instrument.

I wonder if MIDIyoke works? Last time I tried that between Overture and Sonar, Sonar stuttered badly. I just upgraded Sonar to 8.5.2, but I expect the behavior to be the same, and even if it did work, I would have to open Overture then Sonar, then patch the two together. If rewire worked there would be at least one fewer steps.


I use 2 solutions:

1) You may export the Overture score as MIDI & import it in Sonar.
2) You may set the correct MIDI channels in the track view of Overture and connect it via MIDIoverLAN or another MIDI driver to SONAR, choose "record" in the SONAR track & press the PLAY button in Overture.

Both solutions works perfect.

BTW I use SONAR 8.5 Producer

:-) Jovan

_________________
the man with the blue guitar


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 1:32 pm 
Offline
Super User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:07 am
Posts: 804
Location: Clearwater, FL USA
Thanks Jovan. I saw a post years ago where Don had said they (who is they?) had intentions to add Rewire to Overture, but the idea may have fallen on the ground. I just brought it up again to see which way the smoke blew.

In my ideal scenario, I would use Sonar as a synth rack for Overture. Of course, there is the issue of 32/64 bits to deal with. LoopBe30 might be able to do this between Ove and Sonar.
-Mike

_________________
C. Mike Bunker
Clearwater, FL

Win 10 x64, Intel 4 core I7-4790 desktop, 12 gb RAM.
Sonar Platinum, Roland Integra-7, Garritan (GPO 5, GIO,
Classic Pipe Organs). Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Kirk Hunter
Ensembles, Kontakt 6, Kontakt 6 libraries, Amadeus SO.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:40 pm 
Offline
Super User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:07 am
Posts: 804
Location: Clearwater, FL USA
In the end, I was hoping to use Sonar as a synth rack. But Sonar doesn't seem to want to use live imported MIDI without recording it. I understand that Notion 3 can be a front-end to Sonar, but how would they do that? What can it do with Sonar?

I'll note from other threads that MIDIYoke as a MIDI connecting pipe can only talk 32 bits, while LoobBe1 and LoopBe30 can talk 32 and 64.

And finally, I'm not advocating the use of Notion, but I'm angling for a way to do what I want with what I have. Note that Overture's future with the minimum number of programmers is toasting the competition with their massive development teams! Uh-Rah! Smack 'em good Don.
-Mike

_________________
C. Mike Bunker
Clearwater, FL

Win 10 x64, Intel 4 core I7-4790 desktop, 12 gb RAM.
Sonar Platinum, Roland Integra-7, Garritan (GPO 5, GIO,
Classic Pipe Organs). Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Kirk Hunter
Ensembles, Kontakt 6, Kontakt 6 libraries, Amadeus SO.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group