Community

Where Overture and Score Writer users interact
It is currently Mon Aug 10, 2020 4:34 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Respace Staves
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 6:43 pm 
Offline
Super Man

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 1018
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
I know about the Respace Staves command but I can't seem to get it to work on this page...the String staves are too close together, while the next page looks fine.

Attachment:
staves.png
staves.png [ 316.63 KiB | Viewed 882 times ]


In addition, the Hand tool will not let me move the staves vertically, while on the following page it will allow me to. This seems extremely odd.
Perhaps I am missing some knowledge?

Even if this one is on me, I have to comment that since the Dec 2 update, I have seen more bugs appear or reappear than in many upgrades prior.


Attachments:
Symphony No. 6.ovex [1.07 MiB]
Downloaded 52 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Respace Staves
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 9:51 pm 
Offline
Super User

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Posts: 606
Location: Canada
Hello Pete. I would rescale your score because it’s too crowded to fit all of the musical elements that you want to include. You can experiment with your point size until you find your preferred sweet spot. It takes only one command to change the point size for all your staves at once (I set it to 20). It will be a lot easier to read given a large monitor (24” for example) and will give you way more working space between staves as well as accommodate extremes in ranges above and below the staff. If you switch back and forth between Linear View and Page View it makes working on and navigating a large score way easier especially if you set your view percentage at or above 125%. An added advantage (if your Preferences are set accordingly) is that you will have access to your MIDI (data) stream where you can fine tune your controller stuff, tempo, volumes, note length, etc. as you compose.

I guarantee that once you get used to scoring that way you’ll never go back.

Anyway, that is my working method when working with multi-stave scores and it makes working with Overture so much more comfortable and convenient and gives a very nice looking end product. Of course, it must be said, ‘each to his own’.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Respace Staves
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:42 pm 
Offline
Super Man

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 1018
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Merv,
Thank you for the suggestion. The weird thing is...I've been composing large scores, even larger than this, for years using GPO and never had this issue. This was done with ASO, which of course should make no difference and I'll assume it is a coincidence that this crowded score coincides with my first full orchestra project with ASO. In any case, where is the option to set point size of staves? I do not see it in the Layout menus.
OK- I think I found it but... The manual talks about Alt drag in the point size box but that just changes one staff at a time. How do I change the scale of all the staves?
Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Respace Staves
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 12:16 am 
Offline
Super User

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Posts: 606
Location: Canada
Instead of Alt, use Ctrl.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Respace Staves
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 12:25 am 
Offline
Super Man

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 1018
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
That worked! The manual is incorrect...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group