Unable to quantize notes

This is where you ask specific questions on how to use Overture.
Post Reply
frankinbahia
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:45 am
Location: Brazil

Unable to quantize notes

Post by frankinbahia »

I'm unable to quantize notes (using Notes/Quantize) for a Swing playback. The "quantized" notes continue to play back straight, as written.
Here is a screenshot of the quantize setting, and the resulting .ovex file.
Quantize test.ovex
(5.98 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
notes to quantize.jpg
notes to quantize.jpg (194.34 KiB) Viewed 94 times
(By the way, I also tried using the Options/Play settings, but that changes playback of all the notes, not just the 'quantized' ones.)

Thanks again, guys!
Merv
Super User
Posts: 720
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Unable to quantize notes

Post by Merv »

Seems to work fine on my Win10 system...
Quantize will work.ovex
(7.13 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
frankinbahia
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:45 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Unable to quantize notes

Post by frankinbahia »

Yes, Merv's example plays as expected.
But what is he doing that I am missing (also on Win10)??

When I make the quantize entry -- as shown in my initial post -- nothing happens. (In Data view/Piano Roll, the eighth notes remain unchanged, whereas in Merv's example they have been altered as expected.)
frankinbahia
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:45 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Unable to quantize notes

Post by frankinbahia »

Here's a quick video of what I'm doing --- trying to quantize a series of straight 8th notes. (Unsuccessfully, as you can see and hear.)
attempt to quantize.mp4
(1.6 MiB) Downloaded 3 times
Merv
Super User
Posts: 720
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Unable to quantize notes

Post by Merv »

Quantize snip.jpg
Quantize snip.jpg (146.67 KiB) Viewed 79 times
I set Options > Play to ‘As Recorded’ because if it’s set to ‘As Written’ the quantized notes won’t play back properly. In your Notes > Quantize dialog set the resolution to ‘Eighth’. I set my Options (going down) to 90 – 67 – 100 – 0 respectively. Other than that I don’t think that I do anything out of the ordinary.
Merv
Super User
Posts: 720
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Unable to quantize notes

Post by Merv »

Forgot to add ... here's what the file sounds like.
Quantize test 2.ovex
(6.81 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
The Quantize dialog acts a bit screwy in that your settings default to something other than what you chose. I can't figure that out.
frankinbahia
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:45 am
Location: Brazil

[Solved] Re: Unable to quantize notes

Post by frankinbahia »

I duplicated Merv's settings, and it worked for me!
I had two errors:
- Was using Play/As Written instead of As Recorded
- Had Swing at 50, which (as the manual states! arrg!), results in even spacing.
Many thanks for staying with this, Merv!
-Frank
Post Reply