play 1st X only / play 2nd X only

This is where you ask specific questions on how to use Overture.
Post Reply
Neil Wyles
Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2020 4:33 pm

play 1st X only / play 2nd X only

Post by Neil Wyles »

Is there a command / feature that observes 1st time only / 2nd time only for playback on repeats or 1st and 2nd endings?

I have used this instruction a few times in the written work, but I do not know if there is a feature that would observe this for play back?

My workaround is to add new bars and cut and paste so the 1st / 2nd endings just play out, and erasing the bars you do not want played, and then export it as a .wav file

It works, but is cumbersome.

I was thinking that it might be possible through "edit expression" , creating something through Midi bank and program changes that triggered changing to a "nil" instrument, or reversing it, assigning it to an invisible symbol etc....but seemed way too much work, as you would need to do it for every instrument.

Any ideas?
User avatar
Dean Krommydas
Site Admin
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:27 am
Contact:

Re: play 1st X only / play 2nd X only

Post by Dean Krommydas »

Hi Neil,

I think the quick answer might be yes and my apologies if this is of absolutely no help to you at the moment or wrong... but in case you haven't explored yet...there may be something of value in the barline options:

Barline Repeat Options.PNG
Barline Repeat Options.PNG (4.37 KiB) Viewed 542 times

and/or Measures > Set Codas, Segnos, etc.

Navigation Marker.PNG
Navigation Marker.PNG (41.41 KiB) Viewed 542 times

Also, make sure Play Repeats is checked off under Play > Repeats:

Options - Play - Repeats.PNG
Options - Play - Repeats.PNG (40.98 KiB) Viewed 542 times


I haven't futzed with these for playback in quite some time. Maybe someone will chime in to confirm and be of more help. Sorry to have to post and run.

~Dean
Neil Wyles
Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2020 4:33 pm

Re: play 1st X only / play 2nd X only

Post by Neil Wyles »

Thanks Dean....not quite what I was looking for.

I am looking for a a command that will make an instrument not play for one of the repeats.

I am using cods and repeat signs etc and the written parts are good....it is for the playback....the overlapping parts / solos / accompaniments are creating a chaotic sound....

Neil
User avatar
Dean Krommydas
Site Admin
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:27 am
Contact:

Re: play 1st X only / play 2nd X only

Post by Dean Krommydas »

Ahh, I see what you mean. A single instrument playing the first time but not the second...as you maintain all the other instruments. If you're just looking to do it every time as you continue working within Overture...I don't know, sounds like that would need some form of parameter automation. I'm not so sure beyond just bypassing the repeat and writing out the difference/extra measures. Maybe someone else knows of some trickery.

If your goal is to capture the performance in a recording without changing your score though...you could manually lower or mute it in the 2nd repeat during your recording process.,..however, that assumes you have access to those controls during the export/recording session. Or you could simply record twice, import both recordings into another DAW, and edit the section.

~Dean
User avatar
Robert
Super User
Posts: 667
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 7:34 am
Location: Qc, Canada

Re: play 1st X only / play 2nd X only

Post by Robert »

Although I agree that it would be a nice feature, I like to make another file where the music is expanded (not using repeats) under a specific name for export.
I often have many version of the same piece, score - lead sheet and a version to export.
Robert Pelletier
Mac user. MacOS High Sierra, Mojave
Overture, Reaper
Post Reply