Garritan Studio install

Overture SE & GPO specific issues here.
Post Reply
BobtheComposer
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:53 am

Garritan Studio install

Post by BobtheComposer »

I'm using Garritan Studio v2.0 with GPO and have recently upgraded my OS, and I don't seem to have the installation media or files. Not sure where I initially got it from. Can anyone point me to a place where I can get a download for this? Either that or any alternative means of hosting GPO samples and making them available for use in Overture?

Many thanks

Ed
User avatar
Don
Site Admin
Posts: 4239
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Contact:

Re: Garritan Studio install

Post by Don »

Ask on the Finale website.
Don
Leader of the Band
BobtheComposer
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:53 am

Re: Garritan Studio install

Post by BobtheComposer »

Thanks for the suggestion. I've posted there, but don't seem to be able to get any reply ...
User avatar
Don
Site Admin
Posts: 4239
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Contact:

Re: Garritan Studio install

Post by Don »

Try the Plogue Website.
Don
Leader of the Band
BobtheComposer
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:53 am

Re: Garritan Studio install

Post by BobtheComposer »

No answer from them. Surely somebody must have this installation set?
Merv
Super User
Posts: 728
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Garritan Studio install

Post by Merv »

You’re going way back in time. I’ve faithfully used GPO for may years with Overture and it worked well for me. Garritan was a player back in the day, but their offerings are now totally out of date and outclassed by the big players in the game.

Garritan has not been able to keep up with the other sample libraries over the years, and Gary was wise to sell out. Maintaining a viable and up to date sample library collection is an expensive proposition and (with all due respect) Gary was simply not up to the task.

I suggest you start from scratch. Download and install ASO or any other sample library collection and dump anything involved with GPO. Personally, I keep my GPO libraries because they are not totally worthless and contain a small amount of valuable content.

I’ve been in the game a long time and know the evolution of sample library development. Garritan has not been able to keep up. Consulting the Finale and Plogue websites will result in nothing but disappointment.
BobtheComposer
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:53 am

Re: Garritan Studio install

Post by BobtheComposer »

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, I'm a complete novice as far as the infrastructure is concerned. I managed to get GPO, Garritan Studio and Overture to work together, more by luck than judgement, and have tried to keep it going. I always dread any OS changes, because I know nothing will work afterwards, and I have no idea how it all hangs together. So far, I've just blundered about until it works again.

I presume that when you talk about downloading a different sample library, what you actually mean is buy one? Having my present setup working OK in my 32 bit OS, I'm loath to abandon it for an expensive new setup. I guess if nobody can help with this, I'll just have to carry on booting up this OS whenever I want to use the samples in Overture. I think I've read somewhere that it's possible to use the GPO samples directly in Overture without the Garritan Studio host, but have no idea how to do it. I don't get the GPO menu item in Overture.

If you or anyone else can point me in the right direction for learning how this all hangs together and getting hold of new kit at a reasonable cost, I'd be very grateful!
BobtheComposer
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:53 am

Re: Garritan Studio install

Post by BobtheComposer »

Thanks @eltonwisk for repeating my post - very helpful!
Merv
Super User
Posts: 728
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Garritan Studio install

Post by Merv »

Hi Bob,

These scumbag trolls get annoying real quick. Their location info says ‘united states’ but I suspect Russia, North Korea or India. They C&P my posts quite often. Thankfully our moderators are savvy enough to recognize BS when they see it.
BobtheComposer
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:53 am

Re: Garritan Studio install

Post by BobtheComposer »

Really? Why would they bother?
User avatar
Dean Krommydas
Site Admin
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:27 am
Contact:

Re: Garritan Studio install

Post by Dean Krommydas »

BobtheComposer wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:07 pm Thanks @eltonwisk for repeating my post - very helpful!
:lol:
BobtheComposer wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:07 pm Really? Why would they bother?
Ultimately, too many possibilities to know exactly why people do the crazy things they do!
Merv wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 5:11 pm Thankfully our moderators are savvy enough to recognize BS when they see it.
In case we miss something and you catch it first...don't forget you can report a post and it will draw our attention to it quicker.

Report.PNG
Report.PNG (1.72 KiB) Viewed 742 times
Post Reply