Community

Where Overture and Score Writer users interact
It is currently Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:22 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 3385
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Using ASO by default as default instrument in place of GM is not a good idea.
MusicXML scores do not require an accurate description of the actual instrument and you would end up replacing most of them anyway.
You can always use the Tracks>Remap Playback, the fastest method, which is why the function is there.

The latest update has Amadeus Templates.

I stated before that the ASO SoundMap floating around was not an official release and that there would be an official release that supported Amadeus directly.
I wish you all would do research and read before commenting.
This takes a lot of my time to read things that should not be here.

_________________
Don
Leader of the Band


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 1:30 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 10:09 pm
Posts: 121
Location: Sillie Con Valley, California
Doug Kerr wrote:
Hi, Merv,

Merv wrote:
I’m waiting for a total integration (marriage) of ASO into the Overture UI and code base (and bypassing all that Kontakt overhead and expense).

I'm not sure what you mean by "Kontakt . . . . expense". Are you referring to expense by the user? As far as I recall, my Kontakt 5 and Kontakt 6 players were free.

Doug

Doug is right. Kontakt is a paid product. Kontakt Player is free.

Only libraries that are properly licensed through Native Instruments can use the free Kontakt Player instead of Kontakt. ASO is one of those libraries.

If you already have the purchased version of Kontakt, you have no need for the free Kontakt Player.

_________________
Sillie Con Valley USA
Music Industry Pro
2010 iMac 2.93G i7, 32G RAM, 2T SSD x2, OS 10.13.3
Overture 5.5.4, DP 9.52, Logic Pro X, Finale 26.1, Encore 5.0.7, SmartScore X2 Pro, Notion 6
Legacy G4-1K DP: OS 10.4.11, OS 9.2, Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:17 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Posts: 396
Location: Canada
Yes, that is correct. Why buy something when you can get it free! Isn’t capitalism great! (But there’s always a caveat)

It would appear that Don has forever attached himself to the Native Instruments train which I suppose is a wise business decision.

In a perfect world this is what I would recommend…

1. Don, make your own player. N.I.’s is not bad, but you could make it better. Others have done it. Tell N.I. where to stuff it. As a programming/software engineer it will give you a new project to work on and keep you busy, thus out of trouble.
2. Your player will be uniquely suited to your maturing ASO library (and perhaps those of many others).
3. Your ‘player’ will be more versatile, flexible, feature rich, user friendly, and easy to use. You have already developed this concept with your Overture/ScoreWriter programming paradigm.
4. You won’t hold honest and hard-working library developer’s hostage with some rip-off pay as you go scheme.

But, alas… this is not a perfect world.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 7:23 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 3385
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Tell me what player is better than Kontakt.

Nothing has more capabilities and 90% of all professional libraries are Kontakt, making it easier for professionals to understand.
Professionals can open up Kontakt and alter the sounds to suit their needs.
Believe me, I did plenty of research.
The only drawback is that a host can't pick a channel and say load this sample.

And to be truthful, Native was easy to work with.
Other companies have complained about Native, but after working with them, I have to assume it was the companies fault.

I will not say which, but their is one alternative coming along and when it matures, I may take a look at it.

_________________
Don
Leader of the Band


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 7:41 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Posts: 396
Location: Canada
In no way am I ‘dissing’ Kontakt. It’s great to work with and you made a wise business decision in working with them. I was only suggesting that ASO works within Overture like GM does – a powerful, but invisible presence. With some programming skullduggery and inventiveness why couldn’t it happen? Anyway, I was just thinking out loud. Perhaps we shouldn’t bring the idea up any more.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:15 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:22 pm
Posts: 19
My Kontakt Player and Amadeus are working, but not showing up in the Overture Library Panel. Software Instrument says "none". is there a drive or file location issue?..or?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:34 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Posts: 396
Location: Canada
Here is a very simplistic answer, but hopefully it can resolve your issue… (I have no idea what your platform is/or your specs are, so this information may just be gobbledygook.

The latest release of Overture will contain the up to date files you need to make Overtures Library Panel display what you need. You should find a file called ‘Amadeus Symphonic Orchestra.xml’ in your ‘Plugin Devices’ folder. If it’s not there (and it should be), find it and put it there.

You should also find a file called ‘Kontakt.dll’ in your VSTPlugins folder. (Make sure it is the 65,127 KB file.) If it’s not there, find it and put it there.

With these two important files placed in their proper locations Overture should display what you are missing. Others may offer more pertinent information for you to consider (such as rescanning your plugins).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:07 am 
Offline
Super User

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:33 am
Posts: 561
Location: The Berkshires, MA
Instead of moving ‘Kontakt.dll’, you want to add it's location to the search path in the Plugin manager. Otherwise you'll have to move it over and over whenever there's a Kontakt update.

_________________
Overture 5, Sibelius 8, Finale 25, Notion 6, Cubase 8.5
Win10 x64, 32GB RAM, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Kontakt, VSL VI Pro, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choirs and Pianos
August Foster 190


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:08 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 3385
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
FrankL,

Make sure you have the latest Overture 5 update. 5.5.4 released Jan 1, 2019.

_________________
Don
Leader of the Band


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 6:53 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:22 pm
Posts: 19
thanks everyone...I managed to figure out from another forum..as Bill Reed mentioned, it was a matter of selecting the correct directory (which was my problem) and then scanning them into the VST plug-in Manager..thanks all


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 8:26 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:25 am
Posts: 20
Merv wrote:
In no way am I ‘dissing’ Kontakt. It’s great to work with and you made a wise business decision in working with them. I was only suggesting that ASO works within Overture like GM does – a powerful, but invisible presence. With some programming skullduggery and inventiveness why couldn’t it happen? Anyway, I was just thinking out loud. Perhaps we shouldn’t bring the idea up any more.



I agree totally !!!

When using Sibelius or Dorico or Finale with Note performer, you open an Xml file and you get immediately great sound because you can choose to have Noteperformer as default instrument.

That's why it would be great to have ASO as possible default, loading all great sounding instruments when opening a file.

nanotk

_________________
MacBookPro. Sibelius8, Notion6, Dorico, LogicProX, Overture5, Opusmodus.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group