Community

Where Overture and Score Writer users interact
It is currently Sun Sep 22, 2019 6:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Feature request for Ove6
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 5:27 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Posts: 454
Location: Canada
Don, since you’re in the development stage of Overture 6 and I suppose that most things are still in a state of flux and I also suppose that it’s safe to assume that you are still remaining flexible as to options and features, how about briefly considering this workflow modification…

…bring the ‘Scrub Tool’ back to the main score window (as it was in Ove4) with the choice to scrub a selected track only (the track that contains the cursor), a section (e.g. strings or brass or WW) or selection of different tracks, or the entire score at once. I find it to be a very handy tool to use when composing and arranging. All of the current workarounds (soloing, muting, tempo changes, etc.) would be nowhere near as flexible. It worked well in Ove4 and I would like to think that it would work well again in Ove6.

Currently the scrub tool can only be accessed in Data View and can only scrub one track at a time.

The Selection Tool (C) has these entries: Select Tool (esc), Hand Tool (H), Scale Tool, and Zoom Tool (Z). This might be a good place for a Scrub Tool or you could give it its own button on the Control Bar.

Thanks again for an outstanding program – and looking forward to Ove6.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 3733
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
It is in the works for Ove 6.
Don't know exactly how to distinguish between track, sections, entire score, etc.

_________________
Don
Leader of the Band


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:30 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Posts: 454
Location: Canada
… sure you do :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 12:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 3733
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
If the last update, you can select notes and hit space bar to play on the selected notes. Look at Options>Play menu.

_________________
Don
Leader of the Band


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 3:57 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Posts: 454
Location: Canada
Just installed the 9/3/2019 (Overture 5(4).msi) update a few minutes ago.

That’s a neat trick, Don, and the new ‘Options > Play > Only Selected Notes’ works really well. Even a discontiguous selection works nicely and so far I have found no unpleasant side affects. This function works as I would expect. I have even assigned a key command to this very handy function to toggle it on and off.

Whoever made that suggestion should get a prize (and of course the guy who coded it)! Now it’s time to explore your new coding changes in this new version.

Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 4:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 3733
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Well there are still a few glitches in that version, but I have a new one tomorrow, that is even better.

_________________
Don
Leader of the Band


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group