Community

Where Overture and Score Writer users interact
It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2019 3:28 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


Please be specific when reporting bugs and be able to reproduce them.
If you don't, the post will most likely be ignored or deleted.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:30 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:35 am
Posts: 178
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Working with Overture 5.5.4-6 under Windows 7

We may wish to write a track for a stringed instrument using tablature notation, where we have in mind for the instrument to have a tuning not represented in Overture's list of named tunings.

It would seem that the way to do that is to, using the Inspector>Track>Tuning panel, with the regular staff selected, select a named tuning (in the Instrument drop-down) that is much like the tuning we want, and then change the pitch of the string or strings for which the pitch differs in "our" tuning. The resulting tuning is not the same as any available named tuning (which of course is why we had to make it ourself).

But when we do that, and select some notes on the regular staff, and call Notes to Tablature, the tuning "offered" by the Tablature Settings dialog is not the "custom" tuning in effect on the regular staff but rather in all cases the Guitar tuning. (If the tuning in effect on the regular staff has less than 6 strings, the offered tuning has that many strings, with their pitches being from the first that many strings of the Guitar tuning.)

Thus there is no convenient way to use for an instrument a tuning that is not the same as any available named tuning.

I would think think in this scenario, the tuning "offered" by the Tablature Settings dialog should be the very tuning in effect for the regular staff, whether that corresponds to any of the available named tunings or not.

Doug


Last edited by Doug Kerr on Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:04 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:35 am
Posts: 178
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Here is a procedure to reproduce the situation I reported above.

[This has been edited from its original form to present the string pitches in the order customarily used in guitar literature.]

"Standard" guitar tuning is E3 A3 D4 G4 B4 E5 * (written the way it has to be in Overture, one octave high, since the guitar is a transposing instrument, and written with string 1 first, for ease in comparing to the Overture tuning tables, and using the "middle C = C4" octave convention).

* Written with the highest string pitch first, as is the custom in guitar literature.

But suppose in some project for some reason we wish to write a track for a guitar on which all strings are tuned a whole step lower than in the standard tuning. That would be:

D3 G3 C4 F4 A4 D5

There is (not surprisingly) no named tuning with that tuning, so we will have to make one.

Start with the Basic: Guitar with Tab template. Both the regular and tab staves will carry the standard Guitar tuning.

On Inspector>Track>Tuning, change the pitches of the strings to:

D3 G3 C4 F4 A4 D5

By the way, this is now shown as the tuning on both the regular and tab staves.

Now, on the regular staff place some notes and select them. Then call Notes>Notes to Tablature. We get the Tablature Settings dialog. But the tuning it "offers" is the standard Guitar tuning:

E3 A3 D4 G4 B4 E5

which is not what we need to have used for the proper transfer of our notes to tab notation.

Doug


Last edited by Doug Kerr on Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:49 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:22 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:35 am
Posts: 178
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
As an aside, if we set out to make a "custom" tuning and modify a provided tuning to the one we want, but (unbeknownst to us) there is actually a named tuning like that, Overture recognizes that and considers that we have just selected that tuning.

Then, with this new "named tuning" in effect on the staves, when we call Notes to Tablature, the Tablature Settings dialog will in fact "offer" that tuning (since it is a named one), and we can just take it.

Doug


Last edited by Doug Kerr on Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:15 pm 
Offline
Super User

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 6:37 pm
Posts: 940
Custom tunings are awkward to invoke, retain or reuse in Overture.

One would hope that setting it once—on either the tablature or notation staff—would suffice. Well, to be fare, Overture does retain the altered tuning. The problem is with the Tablature Settings dialog.

Like you say Doug, I encounter trouble with the following steps:

    • Start with the Guitar Tuning property on the notation staff
    • With the staff still selected in the Tuning tab modify one or more Strings
    ... in a manner than matches no other Instrument in the panels list, for instance, change G4 to F4).
    • Select some notes in the notation staff
    • Call Notes to Tablature

Unexpected result: The Tablature Settings dialog presents the default Guitar Tuning, i.e. no F4!

Result after OK:

    The tab staff Strings are reset to standard guitar, and therefore we get tablature numbers that pertain to standard tuning. This "makes sense" given the String values Overture conjures into the Tablature Settings dialog.

    Unfortunately Overture fails to populate Tablature Settings>strings to match the String settings of the notation staff—that's what doesn't make sense.

The addition of an "Add New Instrument Tuning" button and related dialog would be a great step toward resolving this issue. Or as previously suggested, an external XML file where users can define their Instrument tunings, because I doubt Sonic Scores is interested in providing as many tunings as some individual users would want. And most users wouldn't want an enormous list of tunings they never use, but would benefit from of list of their tunings of interest. Plus the XML could be shared among users.

Thanks for considering!

_________________
Mac OS


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group