How to silence slashes on playback

This is where you ask specific questions on how to use Overture.
Post Reply
frankinbahia
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:45 am
Location: Brazil

How to silence slashes on playback

Post by frankinbahia »

Is there a way to silence slashes on playback (other than muting the entire track)?
Thanks!
Merv
Super User
Posts: 697
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Canada

Re: How to silence slashes on playback

Post by Merv »

Right click on a slash or select a group of slashes then right click on any slash within that group and choose Disable Playback.
frankinbahia
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:45 am
Location: Brazil

Re: How to silence slashes on playback

Post by frankinbahia »

Wow.
Thank you, Merv!
User avatar
Raymond63
Super User
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 10:50 am
Location: The Hague

Re: How to silence slashes on playback

Post by Raymond63 »

Please, tell me what these are "Slashes" in a score?

This dinosaur doesn't know.


Raymond
Windows 10/64, Overture, Altiverb, Voxengo EQ, VSL instruments, VEP, Amadeus, PianoTeq
frankinbahia
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:45 am
Location: Brazil

Re: How to silence slashes on playback

Post by frankinbahia »

They're typically used in rhythm section parts (guitar, piano, drums and sometimes bass) along with chord symbols, in place of actual notes with pitches. Although stems can be added to show specific rhythms, more often there's simply one slash per quarter note. (Overture prints those parts normally, but in playback it actually plays a distracting pitch, hence my question which was nicely answered.)
User avatar
Raymond63
Super User
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 10:50 am
Location: The Hague

Re: How to silence slashes on playback

Post by Raymond63 »

Nice, thank you,

Raymond
Windows 10/64, Overture, Altiverb, Voxengo EQ, VSL instruments, VEP, Amadeus, PianoTeq
frankinbahia
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:45 am
Location: Brazil

Re: How to silence slashes on playback

Post by frankinbahia »

An update on the 'silence' procedure:
Merv's solution works perfectly, but only if the Drag Cursor is active after you've selected the measures with slashes. (That's the four-arrowhead symbol; move your mouse over a selection to find it.)
Post Reply