Community

Where Overture and Score Writer users interact
It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:53 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:25 pm 
Online
Super User

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 768
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Just starting to use Amadeus... Using French Horn 1 as an example- Marcato articulation shows it as D0.

Attachment:
Amadeus.png
Amadeus.png [ 237.42 KiB | Viewed 508 times ]



Clicking on the OV5 Marcato articulation, the menu shows it as D1.

Attachment:
ov5.png
ov5.png [ 347.95 KiB | Viewed 508 times ]


They don't match, but it plays correctly.

If I change the OV5 Marcato menu to D0, to match Amadeus, it does not play correctly.
Is this a glitch or am I not understanding something? This was not the case in GPO.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:32 am 
Offline
Super User

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:33 am
Posts: 580
Location: The Berkshires, MA
I think the sound Map reconciles the discrepancy.

_________________
Overture 5, Sibelius 8, Finale 25, Notion 6, Cubase 8.5
Win10 x64, 32GB RAM, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Kontakt, VSL VI Pro, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choirs and Pianos
August Foster 190


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wrong Keyswitches?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 10:03 am 
Online
Super User

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 768
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
This is a basic concept of keyswitching, that the listed keyswitch of the articulation matches exactly the keyswitch shown in the instrument patch for that articulation. How would a new user of ASO know to expect that discrepancy? It drove me nuts for a while.

Aside from that bug I am loving the library- it sounds great and is very flexible.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:39 pm 
Offline
God of Transposition
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 8:08 am
Posts: 1727
Location: Franklin IN
There is a place in OV where you can define what Middle C is.
Some software defines Middle C as C3, other software as C4.
I'm not near OV now, so I can't point you to it.

_________________
Snorlax.
Live rock, jazz, & classical euphonium at:
http://www.soundcloud.com/jweuph
Yanmaha 642-II NEO and Yamaha 321 euphoniums.
Yamaha 621 baritone, blue pBone, Conn 50H trombone


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 3779
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Peter,

Before making negative statements like "How would a new user of ASO know to expect that discrepancy?" please learn how the world works.
Users have different preferences for middle C which can be set in preferences.
There is no way to resolve this other than the user getting a grip on things.

Some libraries/keyboards use C3 as middle c and some use C4. You can't have it both ways.

_________________
Don
Leader of the Band


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:48 pm 
Online
Super User

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 768
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Thank you for the explanation, Don. I did not see any reason for the discrepancy, being that both Amadeus and OV5 are Sonic Scores programs I assumed they would sync as far as something basic like choice of Middle C on default. I do understand how the "world works" as far as Middle C implementation but, like I stated, I did not expect it in ASO and OV5 and thought it would be worth mentioning, especially for other new users.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 5:41 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:28 am
Posts: 83
In the ASO soundmap file, in the ASO User Guide, and on the ASO "control panel" in the Kontakt player, the pitches for key switches (and other things) are shown in scale degree-octave notation (e.g., "D0"), with the octave being on the basis of middle C = C3.

In Overture, pitches are shown or entered in scale degree-octave notation, with the octave being on the basis of middle C = C3, C4, or C5, as set by the user in Preferences.

Thus a key switch pitch we see in the ASO soundmap file, in the ASO User Guide, or on the ASO "control panel", as D0 might be seen in different peoples' Overture as D0, D1, or D2. But it is always the same pitch.

This is not to say that there are no pitch errors in the ASO sound map file (or other Overture sound map files).

Cheers,

Alan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 4:54 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 7:44 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Thirlmere, NSW, Australia
Staccato would not play back correctly using Kontakt Player.
Articulation was applied to all notes.
Staccato would not 'switch off' for subsequent notes having no articulation.


So I opened the Show Track's Inspector pane and noticed this:



Then I went to the Kontakt pane and changed this:

And now it works.


Attachments:
Inspector 2.jpg
Inspector 2.jpg [ 218.48 KiB | Viewed 371 times ]

_________________
    Ov 1x, 2.x, 3.x, 4.x, 5.x
    Mac G5 1.8 GHz + Leopard
    27inch iMac + 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 + whatever is the latest OS
    Roland, Yamaha, Sound modules
    Garritan PO 5
    Perseverance
http://www.stephengard.com.au
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:35 pm 
Online
Super User

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 768
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Stephen.
Looks like you did not attach the screenshot of the Kontact setting but I suppose you are saying you changed the Keyswitch note for Staccato?

In any case, double clicking on the staccato dot itself (or any articulation) opens the Edit Articulation window which has two clickable sets of parameters for "at note start" and "at note end", which I find cumbersome. But assigning the C-1 (sustain) keyswitch for "At Note End" solved the issue- same with tremolos, etc. Is there a way to avoid this? Shouldn't the articulation keyswitch automatically return to it's previous state after an articulation? Or is this normal?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group